Sunday, May 20, 2012

Grand Prix Cycle 2012-2013 on


20 May 2012, Kuala Lumpur – On an annoucement of the Grand Prix cycle 2012-2013 has been made as follows:-

FIDE and AGON are pleased to announce the full details of the new Grand Prix cycle 2012/2013. Regulations for the Series as well as Players contracts can be found below.
Each player will be assigned to play in four of the six cities and his best three results will be accumulated for his / her overall ranking at the end of the series. The top two overall placed in the Grand Prix will qualify for the Candidates event in 2014.
From the Regulations, the 18 players qualifying to participate in the series are as follows :
Art. 3.1 Current World Champion and Challenger from 2012 World Championship match

Viswanathan Anand (IND)
Boris Gelfand (ISR)
3.2 World Cup

Peter Svidler (RUS)
Alexander Grischuk (RUS)
Vassily Ivanchuk (UKR)
Ruslan Ponomariov (UKR)
3.3 FIDE President Nominees. The FIDE President may nominate one player who must be rated at least 2700 as per the January 2012 rating list.
3.4 Organiser Nominees. Six players may be nominated by AGON and must be rated not less than 2700 in the January 2012 rating list or have been a former World Chess Champion.


3.6 Replacements. Any replacement for the initial selection, will be selected on the basis of Article 3.5 which takes into account the average rating and greater number of games, if of equal rating.
All the players qualified above (including the five reserves) must download and sign the Players Agreement and return it by email to and also by mail (postdated not later than 1st June 2012) to FIDE Office, 9 Syggrou Avenue, 11743 Athens, Greece.
The six cities and dates for the Grand Prix series are:


Players must also submit, along with their signed agreement, the six cities ranked in order or preference of participation. FIDE and AGON will consider the players’ requests and allocate the players to the various tournaments taking into consideration the players’ preferences, average rating and other parameters.

Grand Prix Regulations (pdf)
Grand Prix Player Agreement (pdf)


No comments: