Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Ng Jen Sheng is ANZ Blitz Champ

31 Aug 2016, Kuala Lumpur - The ANZ Blitz chess tournament 2016 was won by Ng Jen Sheng.
He overcomed a field of 32 chess participants.
The tournament was jointly organised by Deen Jewelers and ANZ Restaurant in Dang Wangi KL.
Organisers, Sirajudeen and Aziz Shukor, had in mind of meeting old chess friends together while enjoying the game of chess. This tournament was done for just that reason and in the spirit of Malaysia's Independence Day, Hari Merdeka.
7 minute + 5 sec increment:
Group of 8 (4 players) with the top 8 seeded according to fide rating. ALL others draw for numbers for the group.
Last 16 ( top 2 from each group)
(1 game)
Last 8  ( quarter finals)(1 game)
Last 4  (semifinals) (1 game)
Final  (2 games)
Venue : Restaurant ANZ, Wisma TKT, Jalan Dang Wangi, KL.

31st Aug 2016
9 am
Breakfast percuma!
Lunch percuma!
Afternoon tea/ coffee percuma!
Fee percuma!
1st RM 500
2nd RM 300
3rd RM 150
4th RM 100
5th - 8th RM 50
9th to16th RM 40
List of chess participants:
1.  Abdul Aziz Abdul Shukor
2.  Ismail Ahmad
3.  Kamaluddin Yusof
4.  Razali Hamzah Ng6
5.  Kamalarifin Wahiduddin
6.  Shamsol Bahrin Patahol       Rahman
7. Halim Johari
8. Irwan
9.  Masrin Erowan
10.  Yeoh Chin Seng
11.  Ilhammuddin
12.  Mohd Fairin Zakaria
13. Rusdi
14. padmaRuben
15.  Elsa yousefi
16.  Mukhriz shah
17.  Raja Bazil Bot
18.  Mohd Sameer Salim
19.  Ng Jen Seng
20.  Nithyalakshmi Sivanesan
21.  Yeap Eng Chian
22.  CM Mohd Fadli Zakaria
23.  Max
24.Arash Shahlalaei
25.Ramin  Negahdari
26.Mahmood shah Hussain shah
27.Ruben subramaniam
28.kader maideen
29.mohd zullghafri
31.Jax tham
32.Eric chan
Ng Jen Sheng (in red) holding winner's check, trophy and a small Malaysian flag as well. Masrin Erowan (in black) and grinning ear-to-ear with his second place check in hand. With some of the players available and the chess organisers and sponsors.
How the Tournament Was Played:

The tournament was played in the first three rounds as a league in a group of four players. The top two from each group will progress to the Quarter-finals. In the Q-F, the knock out system is applied with White - 5 mins and Black - 4 mins ( a draw is a win for Black); in the Semi-final, the knock-out system applies with time control of 7 mins 5 secs with increment 5 secs. In the final, two games of different colours with time control of 7 mins 5 secs with increment 5 secs. 

In the final, Ng Jen Sheng won both games with different colours against a sleepy Masrin Erowan.

Top four winners in order of ranking:
1. Ng Jen Sheng;
2. Masrin Erowan;
3. Kamaluddin Yusof;
4. Yeoh Chin Seng.

No comments: