Wednesday, August 31, 2016

ANZ Blitz Chess Tournament - How It Was Played?

31st August 2016, Kuala Lumpur - The ANZ Merdeka Chess Blitz Tournament 2016 was played with a special set of rules that the organisers made up as the tournament progressed. Here was my personal understanding of the tournament.

How the Tournament Was Played:

The tournament was played in the first three rounds as a league in a group of four players. The top two from each group will progress to the Quarter-finals. In the Q-F, the knock out system is applied with White - 5 mins and Black - 4 mins ( a draw is a win for Black); in the Semi-final, the knock-out system applies with time control of 7 mins 5 secs with increment 5 secs. In the final, two games of different colours with time control of 7 mins 5 secs with increment 5 secs. 

In the final, Ng Jen Sheng won both games with different colours against a sleepy Masrin Erowan.

Top four winners in order of ranking:
1. Ng Jen Sheng;
2. Masrin Erowan;
3. Kamaluddin Yusof;
4. Yeoh Chin Seng.

Kudos to the chess tournament organisers with a splendid tournament!

Congrats to all winners.

No comments: